Azores travel guide

The Azores are an archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean located about 1300 km west of Portugal and 3900 km from America comprising 9 islands that cover a total surface of 2247 square km. They are scattered in three groups: the eastern, the central and the northwestern groups. The eastern group includes the two major islands of Sao Miguel and Santa Maria, and the Formigas Islets. The central group consists of the islands of Faial, Pico, Sao Jorge, Terceira and Graciosa. Flores and Corvo make the northwestern group. Apart from the island of Santa Maria, they are all of volcanic origins and are subject to seismic activity. They all share very green scenery with colourful flowers and wonderful lagoons at the bottom of craters. The mild all year round climate makes them very appealing to tourists who go there to enjoy the peaceful countryside, the beautiful sea and the warmth of the people. As popular seaside destinations the Azores have great facilities; water sports, golf, deep water fishing and country walks are all activities available in most of the islands.

Sào Jorge
Sào Miguel